The main finding

In one sentence: Adults without diabetes taking a 25 mg semaglutide tablet once a day had a mean weight change of -13.6% at week 64, compared with -2.2% on placebo, with lifestyle support in both groups.

Group averages, not an individual prediction. A trial result describes what happened to a defined group over a defined time.

On this page

Why this study matters

Semaglutide (Wegovy, Ozempic) for weight management is usually a weekly 2.4 mg injection. An earlier trial, OASIS 1, tested a daily 50 mg tablet. OASIS 4 asked whether a lower 25 mg tablet could also produce meaningful weight loss. A lower dose might mean fewer side effects or a simpler product, so this trial matters to Canadian readers interested in a pill. The tablet regimen here is a research description, not a statement about what is available in Canada.

Who was in the study

OASIS 4 enrolled adults without diabetes at 22 sites in four countries. The summary we reviewed does not name the countries. Everyone had a BMI of 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with at least one weight-related health condition. BMI (body mass index) compares weight with height.

In total, 205 people were assigned to oral semaglutide and 102 to placebo. The trial lasted 71 weeks, with the main outcomes measured at week 64.

What the researchers did

This was a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial. Randomized means chance decided the treatment, in a 2:1 ratio. Double-blind means neither participants nor staff knew who was on the medicine. Placebo means an inactive tablet that looked the same.

People took oral semaglutide 25 mg or placebo once a day, plus lifestyle interventions to support changes in food and activity. The two main outcomes at week 64 were percentage change in body weight and the share of people who lost at least 5% of their starting weight. Confirmatory secondary outcomes were losing at least 10%, 15% and 20%, and the change in a physical function score from a questionnaire called IWQOL-Lite-CT, which asks people how their weight affects daily activities. The PubMed record labels the trial as phase 2, but the abstract does not state a phase, so we do not make a phase claim. How missing data were handled was not extracted.

What they found

The estimated mean change in body weight from the start to week 64 was -13.6% with oral semaglutide 25 mg and -2.2% with placebo (R32-C23). The estimated difference was -11.4 percentage points, with a 95% confidence interval of -13.9 to -9.0. A confidence interval is the range where the true difference most likely lies. The result was very unlikely to be chance (P less than 0.001).

People on oral semaglutide were significantly more likely than those on placebo to lose at least 5%, 10%, 15% and 20% of their body weight (P less than 0.001 for each), and more likely to have an improved physical function score (P less than 0.001). The summary we reviewed does not report the percentages of people reaching each weight-loss mark.

Outcome at week 64Oral semaglutide 25 mgPlacebo
Mean weight change-13.6%-2.2%
Gut side effects (any time in trial)74.0%42.2%

Side effects and people who stopped

Stomach and gut side effects were more common with oral semaglutide than placebo: 74.0% versus 42.2% (R32-C24). The summary we reviewed does not report how many people stopped treatment, or how many stopped because of side effects.

What this study does not tell you

  • The 25 mg tablet was compared with placebo only. It was not tested against the 50 mg tablet or the weekly injection, so this trial cannot say how the three compare.
  • With 205 people on the tablet and 102 on placebo, it was a smaller trial than OASIS 1.
  • No one had diabetes.
  • Both groups had lifestyle support, so the result shows what the tablet added on top of it.
  • It measured weight and a questionnaire score, not heart attacks, strokes or other long-term outcomes, and not what happens after stopping.
  • The trial was funded by the maker of semaglutide, and our data extraction relied on the abstract only.

What it means in Canada

OASIS 4 shows what a daily 25 mg semaglutide tablet did over 64 weeks in a research setting. This page does not state whether an oral form is approved or covered for weight management in Canada, or at what dose. See semaglutide in Canada and public drug coverage by province.

Common questions

How much weight did people lose on oral semaglutide 25 mg in OASIS 4?

Mean weight change at week 64 was -13.6% with oral semaglutide 25 mg daily and -2.2% with placebo, both with lifestyle support.

How does the 25 mg tablet compare with the 50 mg tablet or the injection?

OASIS 4 compared the 25 mg tablet only with placebo. It did not test the 50 mg tablet or the weekly injection, so this trial cannot rank them.

What side effects did oral semaglutide 25 mg cause in OASIS 4?

Stomach and gut side effects were reported by 74.0% on oral semaglutide and 42.2% on placebo.

Other studies in this library that bear on the same question.

Source

Original paper: Sean Wharton, OASIS 4, The New England journal of medicine, 2025. PubMed: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40934115/. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1056/NEJMoa2500969. Funding: The trial was funded by Novo Nordisk, the company that makes semaglutide. How we summarized it: abstract and extracted data.

This page explains a published study. It is not medical advice and does not describe whether a medicine is right for you. Talk to your doctor, nurse practitioner or pharmacist about your own situation. Reviewed and signed by two pharmacists registered in British Columbia, 2026-09-18.

Evidence records behind this page

Each record is a row in the clinical evidence file, taken from the published paper named above. The caution column is the limit the researcher recorded for that number.

Claim-level source records for this page
RecordWhat the paper reportsTypePopulationCautionSource
R32-C23In OASIS 4, mean weight change at week 64 was -13.6% with oral semaglutide 25 mg daily and -2.2% with placebo in adults without diabetes.direct evidenceAdults with overweight/obesity without diabetesOral 25 mg versus placebo; no direct injectable comparison; PubMed publication type says Phase II but abstract does not specify phase; Canadian status not verified.PubMed 40934115
R32-C24Gastrointestinal events were reported by 74.0% receiving oral semaglutide and 42.2% receiving placebo in OASIS 4.direct evidenceAdults with overweight/obesity without diabetesOral 25 mg versus placebo; no direct injectable comparison; PubMed publication type says Phase II but abstract does not specify phase; Canadian status not verified.PubMed 40934115