The main finding
In one sentence: Among 4,066 commercially insured US adults with obesity and without diabetes who started a GLP-1 medicine in 2021, 46.3% were still taking one at 180 days and 32.3% at one year.
An observational result describes what was recorded for a group of people. It does not establish that the treatment caused the difference, and it is not a prediction for one person.
On this page
Why this study matters
In clinical trials of GLP-1 medicines, the abstract notes that more than 85% of participants keep taking the medicine. Outside trials, people face costs, supply problems, side effects and the everyday effort of weekly or daily injections. This study used real prescription and medical claims from a large US insurer to measure how many people kept going. For Canadian readers, it offers a picture of real-world use in a system with different coverage rules from ours, and a reminder that trial results assume people stay on treatment.
Who was in the study
The study drew on integrated pharmacy and medical claims from an average of 16.5 million commercially insured people per month. It identified adults aged 19 or older with obesity and without diabetes who newly started a GLP-1 medicine between January 1 and December 31, 2021. People had to be continuously enrolled with the insurer for one year before and one year after starting. 4,066 people met all criteria. The mean age was 46 years and 81% were women. The summary we reviewed does not report which specific GLP-1 medicines each person started or at what dose.
What the researchers did
This was a retrospective cohort study. Retrospective means the researchers looked back at existing records. Cohort means a defined group was tracked over time. No treatment was assigned; the study simply describes what happened.
Persistence was defined as continuing to fill prescriptions with no gap of 60 days or more, and switching between GLP-1 products was allowed without counting as stopping. Adherence was measured as the proportion of days covered (PDC), the share of days in the year on which the person had medicine available according to their refills. People with a PDC of 80% or more were counted as adherent. Switching between GLP-1 products was also described.
What they found
At 180 days, 46.3% of people were still persistent. At one year, 32.3% were (R32-C132). In other words, about a third met the study's definition of staying on treatment for a full year.
| Measure over one year | Result |
|---|---|
| Persistent at 180 days | 46.3% |
| Persistent at 1 year | 32.3% |
| Average proportion of days covered | 51.0% |
| Adherent (proportion of days covered at least 80%) | 27.2% |
| Switched GLP-1 products | 11.1% |
The average proportion of days covered was 51.0%, and 27.2% of people were adherent. 11.1% switched from one GLP-1 product to another during the year.
The abstract also reports persistence figures for individual products. We do not list them here, because the study was not designed to compare medicines and the products available in 2021 differed from those available now. The authors describe one-year persistence and adherence overall as poor, and switching as low.
Side effects and people who stopped
Claims data do not record why prescriptions stopped. This study did not measure side effects. The published summary we reviewed does not report a discontinuation rate, and the extracted data specifically caution against calculating one as 100 minus the persistence figure, because persistence and discontinuation are defined differently.
What this study does not tell you
- The study cannot say why people stopped. Cost, insurance rules, supply shortages, side effects and reaching a personal goal are all possible reasons that claims data cannot separate.
- Everyone started treatment in 2021. Which products were available, and how they were covered, has changed since, so the numbers may not reflect current patterns.
- Everyone had continuous commercial insurance for two years. People who lost coverage, changed jobs, or had public insurance were excluded.
- Filling a prescription is not the same as taking the medicine.
- Product-level figures in this study are descriptive and do not show that one medicine is easier to stay on than another.
- The results come from the US system. Canadian coverage, prices and prescribing differ.
- The summary we reviewed does not state the funding source.
What it means in Canada
This study shows that in one US insured population, most people did not stay on a GLP-1 medicine for a full year by the study's definition. It does not tell any Canadian reader what to expect personally, and it does not say whether any medicine is right for anyone. Coverage rules can strongly affect whether people keep filling prescriptions; see public drug coverage by province. For information about specific medicines, see semaglutide in Canada and liraglutide in Canada. To see how support programs differ, see compare services.
Common questions
What share of people were still taking a GLP-1 medicine for obesity after one year?
In this US insurance study, 46.3% of 4,066 adults were still persistent at 180 days and 32.3% at one year, using a definition that allowed no gap of 60 days or more.
How many people in the US GLP-1 study took the medicine as prescribed?
27.2% were adherent, meaning they had the medicine on hand for at least 80% of days. The average proportion of days covered was 51.0%.
How many people switched from one GLP-1 medicine to another?
11.1% switched GLP-1 products during the year.
Related reading
Other studies in this library that bear on the same question.
Stopping and restarting GLP-1 medicines: a US cohort
Canadian GLP-1 plus insulin persistence cohort
MassHealth six-month persistence on GLP-1 medicines
STEP 1 extension: weight regain one year after stopping semaglutide
Source
Original paper: Patrick P Gleason, US commercial-insurance GLP-1 persistence cohort, Journal of managed care & specialty pharmacy, 2024. PubMed: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38717042/. DOI: https://doi.org/10.18553/jmcp.2024.23332. Funding: The summary we reviewed does not state the funding source. How we summarized it: abstract and extracted data.
This page explains a published study. It is not medical advice and does not describe whether a medicine is right for you. Talk to your doctor, nurse practitioner or pharmacist about your own situation. Reviewed and signed by two pharmacists registered in British Columbia, 2026-09-18.
Evidence records behind this page
Each record is a row in the clinical evidence file, taken from the published paper named above. The caution column is the limit the researcher recorded for that number.
This table scrolls sideways.
| Record | What the paper reports | Type | Population | Caution | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| R32-C132 | Among 4066 commercially insured US adults without diabetes who started GLP-1 treatment in 2021, 32.3% met the study's one-year persistence definition. | direct evidence | commercially insured US adults with obesity and without diabetes | 2021 product availability and selected continuously insured population; not a causal drug ranking. Do not compute discontinuation as 100 minus persistence. | PubMed 38717042 |